There are two paths Karma Yoga and Sankhya Yoga ( Gyana Yoga).

There are six philosophies derived from Vedas. Two most popular philosophies are Mimamsa ( Karma Yoga) and Vedanta ( Gyan Yoga )

If you refer to the Bhagavat Gita verse 3.3

लोकेऽस्मिन्द्विविधा निष्ठा पुरा प्रोक्ता मयानघ | ज्ञानयोगेन साङ्ख्यानां कर्मयोगेन योगिनाम् ||

In this verse Lord Krishna has highlighted two types of path followed by worldly people

Gyān-Nishtā (ज्ञाननिष्ठा)

  • One who knows that the qualities ( three qualities Sattva, Rajas, Tamas ) which are born as result of Maya are seen , act and exists within the sphere of Maya.
  • The one who is knower of the Atman, and who are not attach to this false physical body
  • Who discern between the self and non-self ( आत्म – अनात्म​ )
  • This type of understanding is called Gyana Yoga (ज्ञाननिष्ठा) or Sannyasa or Sānkhya Yoga

Yoga-Nishtā (योगनिष्ठा)

  • One who does his actions without the attachment to their results ( he does actions as his duties or with the need to survive this body )
  • It is also called as Karma Yoga or Yoga-Nishtā

There is a thin difference in both, the Karma Yoga is preparatory to the Gyan Yoga. Final path for liberation is Gyana Yoga.

Gyana Yoga is seeing oneself as the ever present Atman, and falsifying this physical body.


Please enter your comment!