Jaya & Vijaya - Gatekeeper of Lord Vishnu
Jaya & Vijaya - Gatekeeper of Lord Vishnu

Jaya & Vijaya – Gatekeeper of Lord Vishnu

Jaya & Vijaya were two gatekeepers at Vishnu Loka, who were born in earth after being cursed by four kumaras rishi’s ( sanaka, sanatana, sanandana and sanatkumara).

Curse by Four Kumaras

According to a story from Bhagavata Purana, the Four Kumaras who are the manasputras of Brahma visited Vaikuntha, the abode of Vishnu. Jaya and Vijaya, the gate keepers of the Vaikuntha interrupt the Kumaras at the gate, thinking them to be children. They also tell the Kumaras that Sri Vishnu is resting and that they cannot see him now.

The enraged Kumaras replied Jaya and Vijaya that Vishnu is available for his devotees any time, and cursed both the keepers Jaya and Vijaya, that they would have to give up their divinity, be born as mortals on Earth , and live like normal human beings.

Options suggested by Lord Vishnu

Vishnu appeared before them, and the gatekeepers requested Vishnu to lift the curse of the Kumaras. Vishnu said that the curse of the Kumaras cannot be reversed. Instead, he gives Jaya and Vijaya two options.

The first option is to take seven births on Earth as a devotee of Vishnu, while the second is to take three births as his enemy. After serving either of these sentences, they can re-attain their stature at Vaikuntha and be with him permanently.

Jaya and Vijaya cannot bear the thought of staying away from Vishnu for seven lives. As a result, they choose to be born three times on Earth even though it would have to be as enemies of Vishnu.

Rebirth of Jaya & Vijaya, as enemy of Vishnu

1st birth in Sata yuga – they were born as हिरण्‍यकशिपु ( Killed by नरसिंह avtaar ) & हिरण्‍याक्ष ( Killed by वराह avtaar )

2nd birth in Treta Yug – they were born as रावण & कुम्भकर्ण ( Killed by Lord Ram )

3rd birth in Dvapara Yug – they were born as शिशुपाल & दन्तवक्र ( Killed by Lord Krishna )

Previous articleHitopadesha
Next articleHitopadesha


Please enter your comment!